Home Page,Catholic Statues,Church Supplies,Holy Spirit,Family Movies Catholic Videos Catholic Books Catholic Audio CDs Catholic Christian Music Catholic DVD Catholic Software Catholic Gifts Catholic Statues Catholic Church Supplies Marianland Contact Search Marianland Catholic Church
Catholic Statues,Church Supplies,Holy Spirit,Family Movies Catholic Videos,Catholic Documentary Films,Pro Life DVD Videos

 

 

 

The Common Mind
Politics, Society and Christian Humanism from Thomas More to Russell Kirk

André Gushurst-Moore

264 pages
Paperback
ISBN: 13: 978-1621380115
Sale Price: $16.95
ORDER HERE - ORDER INFORMATION

The Common Mind traces the theme of the sensus communis, inherited from the medievals, through the lives and writings of twelve literary figures in the modern age, ranging from Thomas More and Jonathan Swift to C. S. Lewis and Russell Kirk. It is this quality, argues the author, which, like natural law, serves as the bedrock of orthodoxy, of social and political order, and which, by its presence or absence, determines the nature of every society. The Common Mind is an altogether uncommon achievement: a rich, multivalent reading of our present cultural condition through a brilliant procession of literary portraits; and a critical work in the ongoing effort to recover a unity of life, of understanding, of principles–in short, a common mind.

Praise for The Common Mind

“Christian Humanism is the tradition in our culture that stands against the disintegrating spirit of the age. In the tradition of Russell Kirk, André Gushurst-Moore presents a rich and enticing portrait of this still-vibrant tradition of Anglo-American thought, one by which we may still find our bearings in difficult times.”— Stratford Caldecott, author of All Things Made New and Beauty in the Word

“André Gushurst-Moore has earned his citizenship in the Cosmopolis. He expertly and artfully traces the soulful lineage of Christian Humanism from St. Thomas More to Russell Kirk. In addition to a number of supporting characters, Swift, Johnson, Burke, Coleridge, Newman, Brownson, Disraeli, Chesterton, Eliot, and Lewis stand tall and proud as well. ”—Bradley J. Birzer, author of intellectual biographies of Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Christopher Dawson, J.R.R. Tolkien, and (forthcoming) Russell Kirk

“Finely written, and highly erudite, The Common Mind is an original and persuasive exploration of the idea of a Christian society, showing its enduring relevance to the culture and the politics of the world in which we live.”—Roger Scruton, author of A Short History of Modern Philosophy and Beauty: A Very Short Introduction

“André Gushurst-Moore takes us on a majestic ride across centuries of English and American literature, showing us that the masters were articulate because they were writing with the same pen and kicking against the same chaos.”—Dale Ahlquist, President, American Chesterton Society

“A gem of a book. It is rare to find such a combination of instruction, solace, and simple delight in one volume. Literate, passionate, and reaching for joy in a time of loss, The Common Mind is a tonic for melancholia and an education for both mind and spirit.”—Bruce Frohnen, author, Virtue and the Promise of Conservatism: The Legacy of Burke and Tocqueville

“The Common Mind is a valuable reminder of a stream of thought and practice which has formed part of Anglophone culture from the time of Thomas More until the present; a literate commentary on the Christian Humanist tradition, and, if adopted in schools and universities, as I hope it will be, it will do much to re-vivify that tradition in the 21st century.”—Anthony O’Hear, author of The Great Books: A Journey through 2,500 Years of the West’s Classic Literature

“The Common Mind is a comprehensive investigation into the spectrum of Christian theology and philosophy. Rather than remaining in the realm of conceptual analysis, the author explores the practical and political implications of these ideas. I was both challenged and inspired to understand more about my politics and my faith after reading this book.”— Edward Leigh, MP, House of Commons

About the Author

ANDRÉ GUSHURST-MOORE is a writer and teacher of English. He is currently Director of Pastoral Care at Downside School, attached to the Benedictine abbey in Somerset, where he has also been a House Master and Head of the English Department. His work has appeared in the Catholic Herald, the Salisbury Review, the St Austin Review, the Chesterton Review, the University Bookman, American Arts Quarterly, and the Political Science Reviewer.

 

 

 

Roman Catholic apologetics, theology, philo-sophy, political and social thought, spirituality, history, art, biography, and literature

Dedicated to making the rich tradition of Catholic intellectual and cultural life more available to families, students, and scholars

Mental Disorders and Spiritual Healing
Teachings from the Early Christian East

The Middle Ages

Look to the Land

The Quantum Enigma
Finding the Hidden Key

Cosmos & Transcendence
Breaking Through the Barrier of Scientistic Belief

Philosophy and Theurgy in Late Antiquity

Christian Gnosis

St. Thomas Aquinas - G. K. Chesterton

All Things Made New
The Mysteries of the World in Christ

Theistic Evolution
The Teilhardian Heresy

Science & Myth
With a Response to Stephen Hawking’s The Grand Design

Mathematical Plato

The Religious Poetry of Vladimir Solovyov

Renaissance and Reformation Times

The Book of the Ancient World

The Book of the Ancient Romans

The People of Ancient Israel

The Book of the Ancient Greeks

The Covenants of the Prophet Muhammad with the Christians of the World

Beauty in the Word
Rethinking the Foundations of Education

Liberty, the God That Failed
Policing the Sacred and Constructing the Myths
of the Secular State, from Locke to Obama

Behold the Heritage
Foundations of Education in the Dominican Tradition

Glastonbury
The Novel of Christian England

The Common Mind
Politics, Society and Christian Humanism from Thomas More to Russell Kirk

Heralds of the Second Coming
Our Lady, the Divine Mercy, and the Popes from Blessed Pius IX to Benedict XVI

Ancient Wisdom and Modern Misconceptions
A Critique of Contemporary Scientism

The Power of Four
Keys to the Hidden Treasures of the Gospels

The Tumbler of God
Chesterton as Mystic

The Radiance of Being
Dimensions of Cosmic Christianity

The Discovery of the Mind

The Political and Social Ideas of St. Augustine

The Passionate God

The Rod, the Root and the Flower

Touches of Sweet Harmony
Pythagorean Cosmology and Renaissance Poetics

Liberty or Equality:
The Challenge of Our Time

Against Inclusiveness
How the Diversity Regime is Flattening America and the West and What to Do About It

The Everlasting Man

Prospects for Conservatives

The Way to Our Heavenly Father
A Contemplative Telling of the Lord’s Prayer

Not As the World Gives
The Way of Creative Justice

Through, With, and In Him
The Prayer Life of Jesus and How to Make it Our Own

Our Way and Our Life
Christ in His Mysteries

To Know Christ Jesus

The Cross and the Beatitudes

Christ, the Life of the Soul
Blessed Columba Marmion

With Christ
Blessed Columba Marmion

We and Our Children
How to Make a Catholic Home

Social Theories of the Middle Ages

The Spirit of Catholicism

Compendium of Theology

Theology for Beginners

A Brief Life of Christ

 

 

 

BIBLES
Text of The Third Secret of Fatima Prophecy - Complete Report
Books and Videos on Padre Pio
Videos, DVDs and Books on Sr. Faustina and Divine Mercy with Diary of Sr. Faustina
ROMAN CATHOLIC BIBLES - Family Bibles, Spanish Bibles, Church, School and Study Bible Edidions
Bishop Fulton Sheen - Audio Tapes, DVD Videos and Books
THE DOUAY-RHEIMS BIBLE - Now in Larger Print!
Why Should You Read Only the Douay-Rheims Catholic Translation of the Bible?

 

 

Home Page / Statues / Crucifixes / Catholic Resources / Catholic Videos / Roman Catholic Books / Catholic Audio Tapes / Christian Music / Catholic News / Angels / Antisemitism / Animated 1 / Animated 2 / Animated for Children - The New Testament / Animated - The Old Testament / Apparitions of Blessed Virgin Mary - Ave Maria / Apologetics / Art Gallery / Audio Tapes / The Beatification of Padre Pio - by Award British Film Director J. Paddy Nolan / Hilaire Belloc / Bible / Bibles / Books on Bible / Bishop Fulton Sheen / Books / Books on Divine Mercy / A Catholic Theme Park / Children and Youth - Animated / Church Documents / Church History / Creation vs Evolution / The Creature from Jekyll Island / Devil - Satan / Traditional Catholic Family Resources / Divine Mercy / Diary of Sister Faustina / Dr. Bernard Nathanson / Errors - Problems of Modern Times / Eucharist and the Mass / Family and Marriage / Fr. Aloysius Ellacuria - American Padre Pio / Freemasonry / Garabandal / Gifts / Gods of the New Age / Global Socialist Tyranny / Health / Hell, Heaven and Purgatory / Home Schooling / John Paul II Collection / Joan of Arc / Journeys of the Soul / Latest Message / Marianland / Marian / Marian Videos / Mariology / Charismatic / Marx and Satan / Medjugorje Miracles and the Message / Miracles in Catholic Church / Money System / Mother Teresa / Music / Free Music Samples / Yoga / One World Government / Padre Pio (Videos) / Padre Pio (Books) / Pious Publications / The Priesthood / Pro-Life Videos and DVDs / Pro-Life Books / Prophecy / Prophecy of The Third Secret of Fatima - Full Text / Rafael's Art Gallery / Prof. Libor Brom / Religious Education-Adult / Catholic Religious Education-Grade School / Religious Education - High School / Rock/Pop Music, MTV, Hollywood and Satan / ROSARY / Saints Part 1 / Saints Part 2 / Saints Part 3 / St. Patrick Apostle of Ireland / Scott Hahn, Kimberly Hahn and Bishop Sheen - Audio CDs and DVDs / Shocking Videos / Spanish Videos / Spiritual Life / Sr. Faustina / Stigmata and Stigmatist / Theology / True Church and Bible / The UN's Crusade Against God and Family / Vatican II / Videos - Main Section / J. Paddy Nolan / Wayne Weible / Latest news / Sin and Repentance / Fr. Faber / Videos as Seen on EWTN Catholic TV Network of Mother Angelica / Mother Teresa / Text of The Third Secret of Fatima Prophecy / Catholic Books and Audio Tapes

 

 

Home Page